Borscht with Beef

Borscht with Beef and Vegetables

This recipe is adapted from The Art of Jewish Cooking and competing family recipes passed down to me by my Grandmother. The way that my Great Grandmother Ruth (who I am named for) made it, was without sugar and without beef. My Grandpa’s mother, my other Great Grandma, did use beef and lots of vegetables which made it more into a stew. My Great Great Aunt added sugar to her borscht, which my Great Grandmother hated. I chose to compromise (mostly because Bodie likes meat) and did a borscht with beef chunks but no sugar!

Ingredients:
1 onion
1 bunch of large beets
1 lb of beef stew meat
a large handful of small red potatoes
salt/pepper
olive oil
sour cream (optional and not Kosher)

Borscht with Beef and Potato

Directions:
In a large soup pot, sweat the onions in the olive oil over medium heat. Cut stems and leaves off of beets, peel them, and chop into pieces. Add the beets to the pot with some water, enough to cover them and make it sort of look like a soup. Chop the potato and toss that in, add more water if necessary. Cook on a low boil (burble) it for a a few hours.

If you are not keeping kosher (like us) serve with a dollop of sour cream. Enjoy! Next time I do this, I think I’ll add more veges. Share your variations!

Leave a Reply

