Pumpkin Muffins with Walnuts … no white sugar!

pumpkin muffins

Well, I made myself wait until mid-October to make pumpkin anything, but autumn is in full swing and so is pumpkin season! The premise of this recipe was that I wanted to make pumpkin muffins but I had bought cloves instead of ginger by mistake. I searched for a recipe without them, and ended up just using the recipes I found as research, though this cooks.com recipe gave me an outline of some of the basics.

I also love the idea of not using white sugar. White sugar makes me feel crappy. You eat it, and it gives this shaky sugar buzz that inevitably wears off in an hour or two leaving one tired and gross feeling. Blech. No white sugar for me, especially in the morning, which is when I want to eat muffins. The walnuts are optional, but if you, like me, enjoy a little protein boost in your breakfast, they are truly a delight.

Ingredients:

2c pumpkin
4 eggs
1/3 c water
1c oil
3 1/3 c flour
1 1/2 c brown sugar
3 tbsp honey
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp ground nutmeg
1 tsp ground cloves
1/4 tsp vanilla
2 tsp baking soda
1 bag chopped walnuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together all the dry ingredients until combined, then in a separate bowl, mix together the wet ingredients. (Ok, I didn’t actually do this, but you should. It’ll taste better because the ingredients will be evenly combined and not clumpy.) Pour the wet ingredients over the dry, and stir until just combined. Do not over mix. Pour into muffin tins using those paper muffin cups and fill each cup until it is almost full. Place on center rack in oven and bake for 20-30 minutes or until the tops are golden brown.  Let cool before eating, really, because they taste better that way. You can also store these in the refrigerator or freezer if you end up with more than you can eat.

pumpkin muffins 2

Notes: if I were to make this again, which I will, soon, I would replace the oil with 1c of butter, and I would use 1 tsp baking soda and 1 tsp baking powder. They did not rise very well, I was imagining big beautiful muffin caps, but it didn’t happen. Maybe it will for you, let me know your variations!
One thought on “Pumpkin Muffins with Walnuts … no white sugar!

Leave a Reply

